Australian automated border control available to Singaporeans

Singaporeans now benefit from automated border control at Australia's major airports

The Australian automated border control system, called SmartGate, will be permanently eligible to Singapore nationals arriving at any of Australia’s eight major airports.

Australian automated border control now permanently available to Singaporeans
Australian automated border control now permanently available to Singaporeans

Singaporeans can now permanently benefit from SmartGate self-processing facilities at Australia’s eight major airports.

Australia’s Assistant Minister for Immigration and Border Protection, Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash, today announced the permanent expansion of SmartGate to Singaporeans following a successful trial, which commenced in February.

The trial by the Australian Customs and Border Protection Service (ACBPS) made Singaporean e-passport holders the first Asian nation to use the state-of-the-art SmartGate technology.

In 2013, there were 385,300 visitors to Australia from Singapore, an increase of 12.1 per cent on the previous year. Last year more people visited Australia from Singapore than any other country in Southeast Asia.

SmartGate is a self-service processing option for eligible passemgers entering Australia. The key benefit is its speed. Rather than having to queue to see an ACBPS officer, SmartGate passengers can self-process through passport control.

SmartGate is available for arriving passengers in Darwin, Adelaide, Brisbane, Cairns, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney and Gold Coast international airports.

N.B. Image credit: Australia High Commission in Singapore